Current Madness

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Past Madness...beware some past entries are jacked...pictures are missing and font is huge!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Currently Reading...

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Currently Listening to...

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Saturday Night - Late

Star Wars, I Dream of Jeannie and God

Suzie (name changed to protect her identity) and I were talking about Religion the other day and she qouted some lame religious phrase and we both laughed but I admitted I kinda liked it. She went on to tell a story about when she described her entire �religious� belief system to her husband James (named changed to protect his identity). His response went something like this...

James: �Ah, Suzie. That�s Star Wars�

Suzie: �No, no you didn�t understand�

James: �Ah, Yeah I did�and its still Star Wars�.

How effin� awesome is that. Suzie and I saw that movie like 10 times when it came out. We were completely possessed by it. I was nine and she was 12. I had no idea all these years that my basic philosophy on life came from George Lucas and not the Pope . As we talked further she referred to the force and fighting the dark side and I commented on how cool it would be to be able to move shit with you mind like Yoda does!

As we talked I said forget Yoda�it�s really Jeannie that had awesome power. I would have given anything when I was a kid to be Jeannie. Whatever about Marcia Brady or Joanie (Chiachi was a dork!) Jeannie had it going on�Fantastic clothes, a killer crib and non-threatening astronaut boyfriend and the power to blink! I dreamed of being Jeannie�I wanted to turn into pink smoke so badly�I used to think if I thought hard enough I could do it�Yoda would have come in handy at those time�he taught Luke to raise his plane out of the swamp with just his mind�where was the force when I needed it �and then I remembered how this conversation got started with the lame religious quote that I kinda like�I don�t think the �Lord� or "God" is some old dude in a white robe operating a giant joystick�I think there is a force and I think we all struggle with good and bad and right and wrong�and I wish when I was a kid back in church that we had said �May the Force be with You� instead of �Peace be with You��that would have gone a long way in helping me understand spirituality and God�but I guess it�s better late than never!

One night I dreamed I was walking

Along the beach with the Lord (or say YODA or if you prefer Obi Wan).

Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky.

In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand.

Sometimes there were two sets of footprints.

Other times there were one set of footprints.

This bothered me because I noticed that

During the low periods of my life when I was

Suffering from anguish, sorrow, or defeat,

I could see only one set of footprints,

So I said to Yoda, "You promised me,

Yoda, that if I believed in the force,

It would walk with me always.

But I noticed that during the most trying periods

Of my life there have only been

One set of prints in the sand.

Why, When I have needed It most,

It has not been there for me?"

Then Yoda replied,

"The times when you have seen only one set of footprints It was the Force carrying you."

OH Gimme a break! I just sat through season two of "Sex in the City" and had to go on a spiritual quest in order to keep from poking my eyes out!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!