Current Madness

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Past Madness...beware some past entries are jacked...pictures are missing and font is huge!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Currently Reading...

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Currently Listening to...

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Wednesday Night - 11:14 p.m.

I am the Lorax

I was in the back yard today extending the bamboo fence a bit when I saw Ray in his yard. I asked him what he thought of the new fence. He responded with a vague nod of his head and then launched into the trees. He didn�t start with the big one this time he went after the medium sized Oak and Maple that sit on the edge of my yard. I stroke laughed. We had a wild exchange in which things like this were said�

�When you can�t get your arms around a tree it should be cut down�

�The Trees aren�t coming down.�

� I am afraid it�s going to kill me or you.�

�You�ve lived this long�why worry now.�

�It hangs over into my yard.�

�You don�t own the air!�

�Foster (previous owners)�blah, blah, blah�

He really hated the previous owners�they were neighbors for over 40 years! In honor of Elmer Foster I have decided to name my giant tree Foster. I told Ray that Foster will never be cut down as long as I live in the house. The madness went on and on as we stood under the trees. I begged him to stop talking about my trees. He won�t stop. As I was sitting under Foster a little while later I looked around the yard and counted my trees�I have 16 trees in my backyard�Ray has one. One perfect Red Maple that he prunes to perfection.

Lisa says he�s the Onceler and that I am the Lorax.

Which means that "I speak for the trees. I speak for the trees, for the trees have no tongues."

I am thinking of taking a picture of Foster and printing this poem over it and giving it to Ray.

TREES

by: Joyce Kilmer (1886-1918)

I think that I shall never see

A poem lovely as a tree.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest

Against the earth's sweet flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day,

And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

A tree that may in Summer wear

A nest of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;

Who intimately lives with rain.

Poems are made by fools like me,

But only God can make a tree.

Thanks Lisa for the Poem!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!