Current Madness

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Past Madness...beware some past entries are jacked...pictures are missing and font is huge!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Currently Reading...

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Currently Listening to...

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

2004-10-31 - 9:53 a.m.

Priorities

I was digging under the table for my shoes when the phone rang. I figured it was my sister calling to tell me she was running late. It was my Mom�s friend Nancy calling to tell me she and my Mom were in a car accident. And that Mom was in an ambulance and on her way to the emergency room.

�Ok. What happened? How injured is she?"

She nervously muttered something about her back and that �she didn�t look good.�

Just then Jenny pulled up. I climbed in her car and informed her our plans had changed. No margaritas and chicken enchiladas instead the ER and our injured Mother. In the 3 minute drive to the hospital from my house I informed Jenny that, if badly injured, Sharon would have to stay with her. And we also lamented our hunger and how seriously bummed we were about not getting our Mexican fix!

At the hospital only one of us could go back to see her�I was the one who inquired at the desk and the dude handed the pass to me�that gave me dibs, right? Jenny protested pulling out what she thought was her trump card, �I�m the oldest�. What are we, 12?

I walked back unsure of what I would find. Little, tiny Sharon was lying flat on her back and shaking. I had to really fight back the urge to start crying. I mentally told myself to "calm-the-fuck-down"! She was very shaken up and in shock. Well kinda. She was very glad to see me and then said,

�Andrea, come here. Take this thing off me.�
�Mom I can�t they want you to keep the collar on until they determine your injuries�
�No not that. This damn wig! Of all days to wear this stupid thing. Take it off and fluff up my hair�

At just that moment the x-ray guy came in to take her away. I just smiled at her and said,

�I�ll hold onto your pursue.�

I went out to the lobby to tell Jenny the story and we laughed. I called our other sister Cynthia and we laughed. I then called our brother Todd and he didn�t laugh. Evidently he was still concerned about her medical condition. I was pretty sure at that point that she was going to be o.k.

Then we went and had Mexican figuring she would be in x-ray forever. Wrong�she called just as our food was arriving. She�s fine. Bruised and shaken but �fine�.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!