Current Madness

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Past Madness...beware some past entries are jacked...pictures are missing and font is huge!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Currently Reading...

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Currently Listening to...

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

2005-07-08 - 11:41 a.m.

Are We Equal?

I thought I�d share a really crazy argument that took place at my house on the 4th of July�my whole family was over and for those who are familiar with that group you can truly picture how it went down�

First of all we are all left-of-center so in theory we should have nothing to fight about�HAHAHAHAHAHAHA�theory is a great thing�.

So my sister Jenny says something like this�I�m not able to quote her because at this point I had had several large glasses of frozen slushy Cosmopolitans!�.so she says, �Currently a guy can�t force a woman to have an abortion if he doesn�t want the kid but he still has to pay child support for it�so why doesn�t the law correspond and say that if a woman doesn�t want the kid but the guy does she would be required to carry it to term and just give it to him��or some fucked up thing like that�her point (I guess) was men�s rights in regards to reproductive matters.

My brother Todd and I argued with her using law, ethics and biology to support our point�my point in particular was this�

Women pay physically and emotionally for sex and man don�t so the law has tried to even it out by requiring them to pay with their wallets. We can�t make equal what isn�t equal�guys don�t get pregnant. I can�t go around and have sex without life altering consequences because no birth-control is 100% effective�guys can. STRAIGHT-FUCKING-UP!! The fracas went on forever with many points being made on both sides.

Mind you the �conversation� was theoretical and we never really took into account that the couple would be in a committed loving relationship�clearly we are talking about men and women who are not �together��they either just hooked-up or have split-up�oh yeah and at one point I offered to give Lee my uterus...and asked the crowd at large if the there was a difference between a penis and a vagina...and the consensus was yes - thank you - that's all I'm tryin' to say!


Jenny said men and women both enter into sex knowing the consequences and therefore they are equal�Men should have equal rights to a baby being born and access to the child once it is born�

Annie said yeah but the consequences aren�t equal - it�s a matter of biology. Woman raise and nurture babies and men are free to come and go (and quite frankly often do - again not talking about people in a relationship so don't go nuts here boys�)�and the only choice guys have in the matter is whether to whip it out or not�once they unzip their pants their say in reproduction is over until the baby arrives�

Todd said fuck-off to what �he� or �she� wants�the kid is what�s important and put aside your bull-shit and raise your kid or not, but you have to pay for it regardless.

So what do you say�

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!